Rules Reminders

New local Rule form Monday 13th March



BALL ON THE GREEN MOVED ACCIDENTALLY.

The rule of golf below has been changed and will be included in the next revision of the rules. It is suggested by the R&A that rather than wait for the new revision in 2019 clubs adopt it as a local rule immediately.


Your golf committee has decided to adopt the rule starting on Monday 13th March.

“Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1 are modified as follows:
When a player’s ball lies on the putting green, there is no penalty if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved by the player, his partner, his opponent, or any of their caddies or equipment.
The moved ball or ball-marker must be replaced as provided in Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1.
This Local Rule applies only when the player’s ball or ball-marker lies on the putting green and any movement is accidental.

Note: If it is determined that a player’s ball on the putting green was moved as a result of wind, water or some other natural cause such as the effects of gravity, the ball must be played as it lies from its new location. A ball-marker moved in such circumstances is replaced."






Ball Moved

It is not a penalty if you touch your ball in address - as long as it does not move.

Move is defined as follows:  A ball is deemed to have "moved" if it leaves its position and comes to rest in any other place.

If you do cause your ball to move; lift or touch it purposefully; or your equipment causes it to move - it is a one shot penalty and you must replace the ball.



On the Tee 

Rule 11 - 3

If the ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee, it may be re-teed.




The Tee shot

Play your tee shot from between, and not in front of, the tee markers.
You may play your tee shot from up to two club-lengths behind the front of the tee markers.

If you play your tee shot from outside this area:

Match play : No penalty, but your opponent may ask you to replay your stroke, providing they do so immediately

Stroke play : you incur a 2 stroke penalty, the stroke itself does not count and you must play a ball from within the correct area





No comments:

Post a Comment